Female Sexual Dysfunction

The female sexual dysfunction response cycle consists of:

  • Desire (libido)
  • Arousal (excitement, lubrication)
  • Orgasm
  • Resolution.

However, we all know that this framework is not consistent in women and these phases can vary in order, be absent, overlap and/or repeat.

For example, many women describe responsive desire, where they may not be desiring sex (spontaneous desire), but if approached and stimulated, arousal leads to an increase in desire.

The sexual response cycle roughly translates into the categories of female sexual dysfunction:
Sexual Pain.

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) guidelines from 2013 aggregated the phases into two general categories:

  • Female sexual interest/arousal disorder
  • Female orgasmic disorder
  • Genitopelvic pain/penetration disorder
  • Substance/medication-induced sexual dysfunction
Female Sexual Dysfunction
Female Sexual Dysfunction Types

Female Sexual Dysfunction Phases Interconnected

Here’s the important part- The phases are often inherently interconnected. For example, if a women experiences sexual pain, she is likely to have decreased arousal, which leads to decreased desire and possibly decreased orgasm. Alternatively, if a woman has decreased arousal (such as a hormonal reason for decreased lubrication), this may lead to sexual pain, which further decreases arousal and desire to have sex.

About the Author
Total 98 posts
Marilyn Walker
Marilyn Walker
I am studying in Florida about Dialectic Behavioral Therapy and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. I'm doing research on Neuro-Emotional Technique (NET), Cognitive psychology, Metacognitive Therapy.
You may also like
Erectile Dysfunction
What are the Physical Causes of Sexual Problems?
Sexual Therapy FAQ
Psychiatric Diseases And Sexual Life

Comments (No Comments)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Search Something